Race Walk UK - Walking races in the UK / Information for UK athletes
Search |
Email Password




Event Results

  Date:    14 March 2009      View all races for this date    Re-order by age grade
  Distance:    5 mile
  Race:    Pat Furey Open / Enfield League  
  Location:    Lee Valley Stadium, London
  Printed in Race Walking Record 791

There were twelve ladies in the field of forty which faced the starter for the Pat Furey Open five at LVS on Saturday 14th March. In good conditions Di Bradley and Phil Barnard scored untroubled victories.
However, the performances that caught the eye were those of twenty-three year-old debutant Lucy Kent who finished second and teenagers Becky Collins and Louise Bradley who recorded very respectable times. In addition to Lucy and Louise, John Hughes who was also taking part in his first walking event qualified for their “Five in the Hour” badges.
The home club was the only one to finish a team in the ladies section, but there was a tight finish in the four to score men’s event, here Ilford AC emerged triumphant.

 Gender   Position   Athlete   Age Group   Grade   Club   Time   

  F   1     Diane Bradley   W45           00:43:28      
  F   2     Lucy Kent   SW           00:45:26      
  F   3     Helen Middleton   W45           00:45:41      
  F   4     Maureen Noel   W45           00:48:08      
  F   5     Rebecca Collins   U20W           00:50:05      
  F   6     Fiona Bishop   W45           00:50:35      
  F   7     Louise Bradley   U17W           00:52:42      
  F   8     Jo Miles   W50           00:53:29      
  F   9     Diana Braverman   W55           00:57:25      
  F   10     Serena Queeney   W55           00:57:39      
  F   11     Emelia Makowska   SW           01:02:03      
  F   12     Kelsey Howard   U17W         4827 metres   00:26:52      

  M   1     Philip Barnard   SM           00:40:02      
  M   2     Stephen Crane   SM           00:42:16      
  M   3     John Hall   M60           00:42:31      
  M   4     Steve Uttley   M50           00:44:13      
  M   5     Carl Lawton   M60           00:45:12      
  M   6     Andy Cox   M55           00:45:41      
  M   7     Arthur Thomson   M70           00:45:52      
  M   8     Laurence Dordoy   M50           00:46:02      
  M   9     Amos Seddon   M65           00:46:26      
  M   10     Dave Sharpe   M55           00:47:03      
  M   11     Don Cox   M60           00:47:32      
  M   12     Mark Culshaw   M40           00:47:51      
  M   13     Mick Harran   M70           00:48:34      
  M   14     Mike Hinton   M65           00:48:46      
  M   15     Gary Smith   M50           00:48:58      
  M   16     Sean Pender   M55           00:49:01      
  M   17     Paul King   M55           00:50:01      
  M   18     John Hughes             00:50:51      
  M   19     Ron Powell   M70           00:52:17      
  M   20     Paul Cole   SM           00:52:40      
  M   21     Alan O Rawe   M65           00:53:07      
  M   22     Jon May   M55           00:53:41      
  M   23     John Whyte   M65           00:54:14      
  M   24     Terry Braverman   M60           00:56:15      
  M   25     Bernie Hercock   M70           00:56:44      
  M   26     David Hoben   M55           00:57:14      
  M   27     Ken Livermore   M75           01:00:59      
  M   28     Dave Ainsworth   M60           01:03:09      

 Position  Race  Club
  1   Ladies Team      
  1   Mens Team      
  2   Mens Team      
  3   Mens Team      
  4   Mens Team